Women of Distinction

About The Award

YWCA Women of Distinction Awards inspire others to achieve by recognizing the leadership of women in a variety of arenas. YWCA Women of Distinction have brought key issues facing women, girls and people of color to the forefront. The awards recognize outstanding women in Southeastern Massachusetts whose lives and accomplishments reflect the YWCA’s Mission of eliminating racism and empowering women. Honorees are recognized for their exceptional commitment to improving the lives of women and girls through their leadership, advocacy, and community service, while achieving success in their career fields.

  • Click Here for a List of Previous Women of Distinction Award Winners.
  • Click Here for a List of Previous YWCA Spirit of Leadership Award Winners.
  • Click Here for a List of Previous YWCA Yvonne Drayton Award Winners.

2018 Award Nomination

Click to enlarge

To nominate a “Woman of Distinction” please complete the application form (please type) and submit as noted below. Please be as descriptive as possible and answer each question thoroughly. You may include magazine and newspaper articles, résumés or other supporting documents, but do not send scrapbooks, audio or video tapes. Nominations are confidential.

Please Nominate a Woman of Distinction by downloading THIS FORM.

Please download and email the nomination form and email it to Gail Fortes: gfortes@ywcasema.org or mail:

YWCA Southeastern Massachusetts
ATTN: Gail Fortes
20 South Sixth Street
New Bedford Ma, 02740

ALL Nominations are due by 4pm on March 30, 2018


  • Nominee Information

  • Nominator Information

  • Women of Distinction Selection Criteria

    Provide a thorough and complete description of how the nominee meets or exceeds the characteristics sought for each of the following criterion. Be as specific as possible for each question and please give examples as to how the nominee meets or exceeds the criteria for the award. Please use additional space as needed to provide comprehensive information.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


2018 Awards Reception

Information coming soon!